Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The ALCS Organising Committee represents five key computational science disciplines in Australasia.


Professor Sean Smith

Professor Sean Smith commenced as Director of the NCI in January 2018 and is conjointly Professor of computational nanomaterials science and technology at the ANU. He has extensive theoretical and computational research experience in chemistry, nanomaterials and nano-bio science and technology. He returned to Australia in 2014 at UNSW Sydney, founding and directing the Integrated Materials Design Centre to drive an integrated program of materials design, discovery and characterization.

Professor Sean Smith is also co-chair of the Materials Science Stream.

Mr Mark Stickells

Mark joined the Pawsey Supercomputing Centre as Executive Director in July 2018.  An experienced R&D and technology executive, prior to joining Pawsey, Mark was the Director of the Energy and Minerals Institute at UWA. Leading a $70m capital refresh program and a team of 50 HPC, data and visualisation experts at Pawsey, Mark is deeply committed to diversity, inclusion and innovation. 

Mr Nick Jones

As Director of New Zealand eScience Infrastructure (NeSI), Nick Jones works from within the research sector in partnership with institutions and government to grow computational capabilities and skills for future productivity and wellbeing. Nick is an experienced leader of innovative teams, and his research sector experience is complemented by commercial directorships in start-up ventures and non-profit governance experience. He has a background in software and systems design, development and consultancy, and carried out postgraduate research into innovation and technology diffusion in the financial services sector.

During late 2013, Nick established a national consultation, eResearch 2020, to build vision and guiding principles for future investments into research computing infrastructures in New Zealand. He has been an advisory board member for two research centres at the University of Auckland, and was involved in the coordination panel for National Science Challenge 10: Science for Technological Innovation.


Astronomy Stream Organising Panel

Associate Professor Chris Power

Chris Power is a computational astrophysicist based at the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR) at the University of Western Australia (UWA), where he leads the Cosmological Theory group, a team of approximately 20 staff, postdocs and students working on a variety of simulation, modelling, and statistical problems in galaxy formation and cosmology.

He obtained his PhD from Durham University in 2004, and has held postdoctoral appointments at Swinburne University's Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing (2004-07) and in the Theoretical Astrophysics Group at the University of Leicester (2008-11), before taking up his position at ICRAR/UWA in 2011.

He was an Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow (2014-17) and is currently a chief investigator of the ARC Centre of Excellence, ASTRO 3D, leading the Genesis programme of theoretical simulations.



Dr Steven Hill

Dr Hill commenced as Chief Scientist for Geoscience Australia in October 2018. In this role, he is responsible for strategic science leadership, influence, and external engagement. Prior to this he was the Chief Government Geologist and Director of the Geological Survey of South Australia from 2013 to 2018. In this role he oversaw and coordinated the Geological Survey’s research and the acquisition and delivery of pre-competitive geoscience data, and he provided advice to Government for geoscience-based decisions.

Key achievements included leading workplace changes in culture and delivery with a major organisational restructure of the geological survey. He has also led the applications for government funding and the delivery of PACE (Plan for Accelerating Exploration) pre-competitive geoscience initiatives (including PACE Copper, PACE Frontiers and collaborative drilling programs) and the design and construction of the new South Australia Drill Core Reference Library. 

He is a strong advocate of teamwork and collaborative research, including project leadership and Science Steering Committee membership for Deep Exploration Technologies Cooperative Research Centre (DET CRC).  Steve remains an active supporter of geoscience education and training, including contributing to the National Exploration Undercover School (NExUS) and supervising over 15 PhD students and almost 50 Honours students.  

Dr Tim Rawling

CEO, AuScope Limited

Climate and Weather

Professor Jason Evans

Jason is a Professor at the Climate Change Research Centre and a Chief Investigator at the ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes at the University of New South Wales. He received Bachelor degrees in Mathematics and Physics from the University of Newcastle before doing his PhD at The Australian National University.

His research involves general issues of water cycle processes over land, and how we can change them, largely through changes in land use and changes in climate. He focuses at the regional (or watershed) scale and studies processes including river flow, evaporation/transpiration, water vapour transport and precipitation. Regional climate models are a major tool in his research.

He is co-chair of the GEWEX Hydroclimate Panel which is a project of the Global Energy and Water EXchanges (GEWEX) project. GEWEX is run by the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP). He is also a lead author of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change's (IPCC) special report on Climate Change and Land.

Associate Professor Todd Lane

School of Earth Sciences, University of Melbourne

Deputy Director, ARC Centre of Excellence CLEX

Materials Science

Materials Science Stream Organising Panel

Professor Graham Schaffer

Professor of Materials and Design, University of Melbourne

Graham Schaffer is Professor of Materials and Design at The University of Melbourne. He was previously the Dean of the Melbourne School of Engineering, Pro Vice-Chancellor for the College of Science, Health and Engineering at La Trobe University and Executive Dean of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology at The University of Queensland.

The sintered aluminium alloys he has designed are in service in automotive engines in the US, Europe, Japan and China and the nanomaterials processing methods he has pioneered are used to produce the active ingredient in commercial sunscreens.

His current research is focussed on the design process and the flow of knowledge in engineering teams; the development of a materials design heuristic; and the computational design of materials. He has BSc and MSc degrees from the University of Cape Town and a PhD from the University of Birmingham. He is a chartered professional engineer and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the Institution of Engineers Australia and the American Powder Metallurgy Institute International.  

Contact Information


P: +61 2 6125 4389

  • No labels